Hiro’s Tale

Last Monday I was watching new Youtube videos from Jackson Galaxy. He releases one every Monday, and it’s about cats, ferals and lots more. I love Jackson Galaxy, and his new videos are great. He’s energetic, happy, positive and it involves cats and guitars. What more do you want, right?

I watched one his newest videos called ‘Your cat has a tale too‘. It’s about writing a story about your cat(s), especially if you don’t know your cat’s story, where he came from, what happened to him and why he’s so scared of specific things or why he does specific things. The “homework” was given to write a story of your cat, in first person. I thought I’d share it on my blog too!

I start with Hiro, we got him from a shelter where he was often found snuggling with his brothers and sisters. I don’t know how he got there and what happened to his mother.

Link – In case it doesn’t work.

Hiro’s Tale

My name is Hiro, in June this year I turned three years old. I’m not a specific breed, but the files from the shelter said I am a mix between two breed — but they never mentioned what kind of breeds.

I was brought to the shelter when I was very little. My mom and my brothers and sisters were caught and brought to the shelter in a place called Drachten, in Holland. When we were old enough to eat solid food we were placed in a special kitten room in the shelter, and separated from out mother, and they gave me the name Puma. One of the shelter-staff who wasn’t really nice to us, always had a really strong perfume smell around her. It was suffocating.

Lots of people came, but none of them took me home, while slowly my sisters and brothers were taken until only four of us were left. I slept the days away, while waiting for my future mom and dad.

I remember it was winter outside when a couple walked in. They looked through all the new and younger kittens, but only the man stood in front of the cage I was in, and he convinced his girlfriend to choose me and not one of the other kittens. But then they left again and didn’t bring me along. Instead I was given vaccinations and was checked up by the vet.

They took me to my forever home and gave me a new name: Hiro. Which is Japanese for ‘generous’. I now share it with mom, dad and another cat named Suki. Suki did not like me at first, but the first week I was in a room where I had everything I needed and away from the others, and all on my own. I had to get used to my new surroundings, but I adapted easily. Suki however, had trouble adapting to me. Even after a few months she was still hissing at me. Not that much any more, but when I got too close, she would hiss and tell me to back off.

hiro3

Now we’re best friends who sometimes can’t stand each other. My new female owner soon found out that I hate, hate, hate strong smells from perfume, shampoos, lotions and anything else that smells sweet. But I also have a lot of energy, so I need to be played with a lot. Or else I ask Suki to play with me, but she doesn’t always want to, or halfway the game she suddenly gets all mad.

I also lick hair, but only my mom’s hair. This is because her shampoo is smelly, and I try to wash it off. She doesn’t like it at all. I also know it works great to get her attention. For example, when I’m hungry at 4 am…

But when I’m bored, I really get bored. I tend to over-groom or bite on a specific spot on my hind-leg if I don’t get played with enough. I will try anything to get their attention, like knocking things over. I don’t do this to be annoying, but I don’t want them to forget about me.

Sometimes mom wants to play with me, I don’t always show my true inner cat. And back off from the playing. This is because I’m not always confident. Compliments, and my favorite toy usually work.

Through out the years that I have been here, mom has tried to find out what I like and don’t like. I don’t like catnip. I don’t understand it, it smells weird and it drives Suki all nuts — no thanks. But I’ll do anything for treats. I love fleece, and hiding under the covers or under fleece blankets. I also love fish, food in general and I always have my tail up in the air! I’m pretty outgoing, and friendly and don’t always understand what I did wrong. But I mean no harm, I promise.

hiro4

I am happy that I have found my forever home, and that I am not alone when everyone is gone to work. In the end, it all turned out okay.

Purrs,

Hiro

6 Responses to “Hiro’s Tale”

  1. Tom Duhamel

    I’ve been working on the story of my three cats for like a year now, maybe even more. I get back on these every now and then, and always realize who much they change quickly. I don’t know if I will publish these because they never seem very complete, they always seem outdated. Let’s see if I can do something with these in 2014!

    Reply
  2. Tom Duhamel

    I didn’t know Jackson Galaxy had a YT channel. I’ve subscribed to it and will watch these videos. Thanks for pointing it to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,488 other followers

