Cat Facts

Time for some new cat facts! Here we go!

  • There are more than 500 million domestic cats in the world, with 33 different breeds.
  • The more you talk to your cat, the more it will speak to you.
  • Cats actually have dreams, just like us. They start dreaming when they reach a week old.
  • Collectively, kittens yawn about 200 million time per hour.
  • Cat’s back claws aren’t as sharp as the claws on their front paws.
  • Cats who eat too much tuna can become addicted, which can actually cause a Vitamin E deficiency.
  • Cats prefer their food at room temperature—not too hot, not too cold.
  • The two outer layers of a cat’s hair are called, respectively, the guard hair and the awn hair.
  • In the original Italian version of Cinderella, the benevolent fairy godmother figure was a cat.
  • The little tufts of hair in a cat’s ear that help keep out dirt direct sounds into the ear, and insulate the ears are called “ear furnishings.”
  • Approximately 1/3 of cat owners think their pets are able to read their minds.

hiro

Resource
Voices.yahoo.com
Animal.discovery.com

Have a nice weekend!

24 Responses to “Cat Facts”

  1. ScorpionGlow

    Cats are known to be psychic, which is why a lot of people feel that way about their cats being able to “read minds”. I definitely believe that some cats, not all, are telepathic.
    I have a friend who always fed her cat tuna, and the poor cat ended up needed surgery, so if anyone is going to do it, I recommend less than once a week in small amounts. Fresh salmon or fresh steelhead trout from your own plate (in small amounts) is far better for their health as long as there’s no garlic or onion on it.

    Reply
    • Lidia

      I don’t think they read minds the “Sooki stackhouse” way. But I believe they can feel our energies and emotions. :)

      And yes, Garlic and onion is not good for a cat.

      Reply
      • ScorpionGlow

        Telepathy in true form does not work the way it is portrayed in books, movies, or on television. I know you were trying to be cute, but I have a degree in ParaPsychic Science, so I know exactly what I’m talking about.

      • Lidia

        I wasn’t trying to be cute or anything? Just stating my opinion/what I thought…?

    • Tom Duhamel

      Any kind of fish should only be provided to cats as a treat, not a major part of any meal. Fish is not as rich as real meat.

      Reply
      • Lidia

        I doubt cats in the wild were able to catch a lot of a fish, so I’d go with meat too.

      • ScorpionGlow

        I agree. Though for health reasons, some cats require more or less protein than others. Only one of my cats was a big fish eater, and she’d only ever eat it out of my plate. If it wasn’t made by me, she wouldn’t touch it. She had seriously human tastes.

  2. littlemiao

    so having extra-floofy ear tufts might hamper a kitty’s hearing?

    and there are about 55,000 kitten yawns per second around the world? that is the most adorable statistic I’ve heard.

    Reply
  3. nadbugs

    *ear furnishings*??? That is one of the most hilarious things I have ever heard!! I’m glad my ears are unfurnished! Do you have to pay more rent for furnished ears?

    Reply
    • Lidia

      Hi Mudge! Thank you for checking out my blog! You’re right, it’s always awesome to meet other cat lovers. :D

      Reply
  4. Kitties Blue

    Mom says that some of these things she knew and some she didn’t. For instance, she didn’t know we had furnished ears. MOL. Thanks, especially for the gratuitous toesy shot. Those pink toes, nose and ears are adorable. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,499 other followers

