Tip To Get Your Cat In His Carrier

I have learned this from the woman in the cattery we brought the cats to when we went to France. And even though I wasn’t happy in what kind of state I got them back, I learned something from that woman. A valuable lesson I can’t keep to myself! I wasn’t so sure about it, even when she showed me I had my doubts. She has experience with cats, it probably went natural to her when she put the cats in the carrier.

As a cat owner who’s cats hate to get into carriers, I have tried everything to get them in. Treats, wet food, making them get used to it for a month. But as soon as the day arrives and the moment to actually get them in. The cats are like: “Lol nope”. They use their front and back legs to prevent them from going into the carrier. And so on…

Suki at the cattery.

Suki at the cattery.

The Tip

Place the carrier in a room where you can easily put the cats in the carrier and where they have trouble hiding. Place the carrier there for a good few weeks. They don’t need to get into it, but it would be nice. Feed them around there, or get the bowl with food every time a bit closer to the carrier. As long as they get comfortable around the carrier.

Hiro at the cattery,

Hiro at the cattery,

When the moment is there that they have to get into the carrier. Use toys to lure them into the room. When they are in the room, close the door behind you with the cat, you and the carrier inside that room. Then there comes a moment to catch your cat, but since there won’t be a lot hiding places (I hope), it won’t be a problem. Grab your cat, hold him firmly at his scruff if needed (support his weight). The point is to get him into the carrier with your cats behind first. Trust me, I didn’t think it worked, but I never got Suki so easy in the carrier before. Ever. It’s even better if you’re able to stand behind the carrier, and hold your cat in front of it (with his behind into the entrance). This way she may have trouble biting you or scratching you. If the carrier is too big, do it from whichever side feels comfortable with you. I put her in from the front, and she was in before she (and I) even knew it.

Shove her in, close the carrier and tada! You’re done! You’ll thank me for this. It even worked for Hiro.

What are your tips to put a cat into the carrier?

18 Responses to “Tip To Get Your Cat In His Carrier”

  1. jimmie chew

    you wrote this at a perfect time for me, i have to take one of the new cats to the vet and i cant even pet her never mind pick her up and put her in the carrier, this will help. thank you!

    Reply
    • Dianda

      If you can’t even pick her up! :( does she like food or treats? If that is what triggers her, are you able to lure her in with treats/food?

      Reply
      • jimmie chew

        thats what i’ll try but i dont know yet, so far i just put the carrier in the room so she can see it. oh this is not going to be fun. this is one of the cats i found and took home, shes so sweet but cant touch her

  2. Gobi Obi

    do you know those cats, it’s nightmare to get them in but when the vet has done his pokes and jabs they run back in so easily, never known the vet struggle to get them back in, although me getting them in takes planning and strategy. I have a blind cat who is always terrified, she hates to go in the box, I feel sorry for her.

    Reply
    • Dianda

      yep, same here, same behavior at the vet! Suki even hisses at the vet. Last time we went at the vet, Suki hissed again. She laughed at it and said: “Oh you’re so funny”. Hahaha.
      poor thing, a blind cat. :( How does she do in life, if she’s always terrified?

      Reply
  3. Charles Huss

    Putting them in backwards is something I would not have thought of. Fortunately for me, I have two curios cats and all I have to do is put the carrier in the room with them and one or the other or both will step inside to investigat. I just wait for the right cat to be inside then close the door. Of course, this only works because they rarly ever go anywhere so they forget that it is a bad thing.

    Reply
  4. Oldcat

    I never have trouble getting cats in…you put them down in front and they run in. Then you shut the door fast before they can get out.

    Another tip I’ve heard is to put the carrier on end with the door up and lower the cat in tail first.

    Reply
    • Dianda

      With the door up doesn’t work that well as it should be. Suki used her back paws to prevent from going in, this goes together with biting. Haha

      Reply
  5. Coccolino

    We agree, nearly impossible to get the kitties in their carriers. Getting a pig in a carrier makes getting a cat in a piece of cake though!

    ~Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

    Reply
  6. Kitties Blue

    Wow…who would have thought? Our kitties stay home when we are away and get yearly care with a vet house call, so the PTU only comes out for an unexpected vet visit. With that in mind, I will only be doing the rear-in-first part. Hope it works next time one of the kitties needs to travel. Many thanks, Janet

    Reply
  7. Sarah

    I bought a giant top loading carrier so you can lift them and place them straight in the top. It’s alleviated so many headaches, but you’re right…prior to having that, I always backed the cats into regular carriers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,491 other followers

