Suki & Hiro Are Back Home

Today we picked up the cats again from the cattery. It was weird to see them in an environment with others cats!

Suki still didn’t allow other cats to come near her. This was combined with lots of hissing. And Hiro was hiding in a sleeping spot. Suki seemed — beside the hissing — rather relaxed. Hiro on the other hand, not so much. Perhaps it was all too much for them.

It’s nice to have them back home again. Suki is napping high in the scratching post. But Hiro seems restless. He also has lost a lot of weight. When I picked him up for a cuddle, he felt lighter than usual. His hips stick out a bit more than usual too. So I am slightly worried, but maybe that is me just overreacting. I don’t know.

He is pacing around, but from what I can see: red nose, red ears, he is tired. I gave him some food, but he didn’t eat it all. So I hope it’s the stress I can blame and that tomorrow he’ll be feeling better and eat better. It was something I was afraid of, that they were going to be so scared in the cattery that they wouldn’t eat anymore. I know it’s not good if cats don’t eat for 24 hours, but it doesn’t seem that bad. Hopefully he’ll feel better tomorrow!

32 responses to “Suki & Hiro Are Back Home

  1. Oh dear. Hope Hiro is ok? Maybe if he doesn’t feel better in a day or so maybe he will need to see the V.E.T

    Eat something Hiro! Stop worrying your hooman!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • That’s our plan, piggies! In meanwhile we have seperated the kitties from each other. Suki distracts and follows Hiro all the time with hissing and all. They seem rather upset by it all!

      > Date: Sat, 29 Jun 2013 16:09:58 +0000 > To: dlvangunst@hotmail.com >

  2. I wouldn’t eat either if Granny isn’t around. He’ll be fine in a few days. It was quite an adventure for Suki and Hiro too, I’m sure they’ll both be fine. They just have to settle down again. Give it some time. Pawkisses to all of you :)

  3. Hopefully being back in the safety of their own home will have both Hiro and Suki back to their usual selves in no time. Good luck. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  4. Oh dear….well, perhaps after a whole day and night with you they will relax – Suki has already made that leap and maybe Hiro just needs more time. Not eating and being thin isn’t good but let’s hope after a RESTFUL night he will eat. There’s just “no place like home” for our pets I guess……WELCOME HOME though – what a wonderful trip you’ve had!

    Pam (and Sam)

  5. Ok, I am not going to be as pawsitive as everyone else. And on,u cuz I have had foster brofur Leo loving with me since May 2nd…we pulled him through fatty liver syndrome. It is on several posts in my blog. A cat can become anorexic quickly when stressed, depressed. I urge you to weigh Hiro. If he has lost more than one pound, that is not a good thing IMHFO. Leo was not discovered until he was in the final stages, jaundiced ears, lips, gums and eyes. He required a feeding tube be inserted for 6 weeks. We pulled him from deaths door. He did not have to get that sick, if his lack of eating had been caught earlier. We are a bit paranoid because of this experience, so please watch Hiro closely. Paw pats, Savannah

    • That’s exactly what I am scared of. I weighted him. He went from 5,2/5,3 kg to aprox 4,9 kg. That’s a lot of weight loss in one week imo. I am worried a lot actually.

      > Date: Sat, 29 Jun 2013 19:52:44 +0000 > To: dlvangunst@hotmail.com >

      • If he does not eat by Sunday, he needs to go to vet for bloodwork if you can manage it financially. That is TWO pounds if my calculations are correct and in one week that is dangerous for a cat . Is he drinking? Cats can go into kidney failure fast if they do not hydrate sufficiently. Also, look in his ears, inside, is there any hint of yellow color? If he has black or dark ears you won’t be able to tell. Check his eyes by pulling the lid back to see if there is any yellow and look carefully at gums and lips. I know I am probably overreacting Dianda, but having foster Leo has made us so aware of the dangers for cats when they don’t eat and drop weight too fast.

      • I haven’t saw him drinking yet, but I added some water to his food. He eats, just not so much. While he would normally eat 15gram every morning, it’s now half of it, not wanting to eat the rest. I don’t see anything yellow in ears, eyes or gums. But I’ll probably check another, cause it’s dark right now. I’m keeping an eye out, if it gets worse I’m going to call the vet today. Or else I’m going to call the vet first thing Monday morning.

        > Date: Sun, 30 Jun 2013 00:27:18 +0000 > To: dlvangunst@hotmail.com >

      • Just a quick heads up. Hiro gained weight. He now weights 5.3 grams instead of 4.9. So I guess that’s good. He eats, just not so much. He doesn’t seem to want his kibble, but he did want some raw salmon and smoked chicken.
        Now we have another thing to worry about: Suki doesn’t want to eat either.

      • all I can suggest is VET…MOnday…and bloodwork…if they were boarded….no telling what they have been exposed to…just a suggestion…and yes, my Mom and Dad are total “worriers”..do disregard this if you are fine…paw pats, Savannah

      • They are both eating normal again since yesterdat evening. Where they both weren’t interested in food – got them to eat anyway -, they behave normal again today. No jaundice either.

        > Date: Mon, 1 Jul 2013 01:09:09 +0000 > To: dlvangunst@hotmail.com >

      • Called the vet and explained the situation. She seemed a bit pissed that the cattery never called us about hiro not eating. Anyway, she said that because he seems to be eating again, he will be okay, and we were probably very lucky. Because that much weight loss can cause fatty liver disease and is just dangerous. And when he stops eating again we should go see the vet asap. So for now things look okay, and we just have to keep an eye out in case his eyes, ears and gums get yellow. I told her the trip to the vet would probably be very stressful too, and I’m scared they’ll stop eating again. But for now she didn’t thought a trip to the vet was really needed. As long as we keep an eye out and see them when there is any change.

      • It’s Saturday evening, they’re not open on Saturday. And I’m not sure if it’s a real emergency. So I’ll wait till tomorrow and see how things are then. I just got him to ate something around 8 grams. Had to give it to him by hand or else he wouldn’t eat it, but it’s better than nothing. I suppose there’s still hope!

        > Date: Sat, 29 Jun 2013 21:28:20 +0000 > To: dlvangunst@hotmail.com >

      • I know you’re very worried about him. When they don’t eat, i feel so helpless.

        Feeding him by hand may be just what he needs right now and for a little while–some comfort and reassurance.

      • Eating will make all the difference, won’t it? He needs to be near you, huh? I”m sorry you’ve had the worry–first about putting him in the cattery, then finding out he didn’t do so well there. Poor little guy…. I hope you get some sleep, Dianda.

  6. Poor baby,i would get him to the vet just for your own peace of mind.A little egg yolk on some food may encourage him,it could just be stress or maybe a bug he picked up,but as always we feel better when the vets checked our babies.I hope he feels more himself soon.Sending big hugs to you both Fozziemum

  7. I was also wondering where you kept hiro & suki while you were travelling! glad to hear they are eating again – it is always such a stress, leaving your kittens while youg go on vacation!!

Leave a Reply

