Book Review: Casper The Commuting Cat

Fi-na-lly! I’ve meant to do this review for a long time already, but I kept forgetting about it!

I won the book with a contest at Mythreemoggies in February. I had no idea what to expect, so I was surprised that since page one I couldn’t stop reading. I think I finished it in a week — which is fast for me.

casper1

A Touching Story

The book is written by Susan Finden from England. It’s written from her point of view and Casper’s point of view. It’s about Susan’s life, her life with cats, her ups and downs in life, and Casper, the main character of the book.

She got Casper out of a rescue centre, giving him another chance at life. Nothing special you would think, right? Until Susan finds out that he likes to sit in the waiting room at her doctor, in a drug-store and eventually she hears that Casper is taking the bus through the city they live in. Worried as she is, she tried everything to keep Casper in, but that’s not easy as it looks like, and the people on the bus like Casper’s presence.

Susan gives up and decides to let Casper do his own thing, but always keeping an eye out, knowing that Casper likes everything on wheels. Casper’s commuting habits made him famous in the entire world. receiving mails from all over the world: America, Canada, belgium and so on. Entering a new adventure together.

I don’t want to spoil too much. But for people who have cats or other pets, the story will be recognizable, touching, heartbreaking and heartwarming. The story is beautiful. It makes you curious, longing for more. I would totally recommend this book for anyone who loves cats, or who just likes books about animals and people’s life. As the book is not only about Casper, but also about Susan, her life, and her adventures and struggles.

I think the book is very well written. Easy, simple, but written with a passion you only see in animal lovers. It made me cry, it made me smile and it made me laugh out loud. If I didn’t have other books on my planning, I would read it again.

Have you read this book?
Do you know other good cat-related books?

8 Responses to “Book Review: Casper The Commuting Cat”

  1. fozziemum

    Sounds like a wonderful read…Our much ,missed Simba got into anyones car…had to bolt everytime someone left a car door open..otherwise he would go,even had to travel free range to the vet…might touch a cord with us for sure..:)

    Reply
  2. onespoiledcat

    Sounds like a sweet book……Casper was “his own man” wasn’t he?! Loved traveling and when you love something THAT much – nothing will stop you.

    Pam

    Reply
  3. Sheba's life story.

    Anne’s the cat lover in our family i prefer doggy books, but i was the same as you once i picked it up i couldn’t put it down, and is well suited for all animal lovers not just cats.

    Can i recommend a Street cat named Bob if you haven’t already read it, It’s another true story and another book you won’t be able to put down.

    Reply
  4. Misaki

    sounds like a book my nanny would like, she’s reading the one about Bob the busking cat atm:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers

