The Suitcase Project

Okay, it’s not really a project. I just don’t know how else to call it.

suitcasep

Today I went to a flea market with one goal: Find a suitcase! I actually wanted to have a pretty and brown leather one, but those were usually too big or broken. Until I found this one (the picture above) for only 4 euro’s! What I’m going to do with it you ask?

© 2009 brooklynlimestone.com

© 2009 Stefanie at brooklynlimestone.com

© Miles & Aimee on Atomic Kitten

© Miles & Aimee at Atomic Kitten

That’s what I want to do with that suitcase. Make a cat bed out of it! The fabric and the brown leather patches on the corners of the suitcase needs to be cleaned. Just like the locks, they are a bit rusty. Not sure whether I’ll keep the lid/cover — or whatever it is called — attached to the suitcase. Anyone got tips on how to get this suitcase clean? Or other ideas?

I’m going to do this when I have two weeks off before the summer vacation here. So I can save up to buy some ‘legs’ for underneath it and other things. Another thing I want to do make for it is a  pillow, or a pillowcase if I can find a good comfy pillow that fits it.

What do you think? Looks like fun, right?

26 Responses to “The Suitcase Project”

    • Dianda

      Good luck! People really sell so much stuff! Old stuff, especially. I saw a lot of gorgeous things (like an beautiful old vintage tea cup set). But also a lot of crap. But it’s pretty fun! :)

      Reply
    • Dianda

      Yea, the last picture is from an Etsy-store. They are around 120 to 160 us dollars there.
      Have to admit, mine probably won’t look that fancy, but it will be so much cheaper!

      Reply
  1. Texas, a cat in New York

    Oh how fun! I’ll be featuring a suitcase or two in my post tomorrow too ;-)

    My human wanted to do just like you. So when the wheel of one of her suitcases broke (twice), she decided to retire it… for us.

    Well, the suitcase was very attractive to us when she was using it but we never used it when it became meant for us kitties ;-)

    I’m eager to see the results with Suki and Hiro!

    Purrs

    Reply
  2. Gobi Obi

    that’s sweet, I bet though once given permission to use a suit case for a bed the kitty won’t use it, with my little boy cats they always sleep in cases when you are packing them for holidays.

    Reply
  3. Janet@TheCatOnMyHead

    We love this and want one for ourselves right away. Mom has promised to make this her very next project as soon as she finds an appropriately nice, old suitcase. We have oodles that we have given away, but nothing as nice as this! Thanks bunches for sharing! Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

    Reply
  4. onespoiledcat

    What a fabulous project Dianda!! Your suitcase is in great shape really……looks like it’s already been “Hiro-approved” from the first picture. I love both of the “examples” of other suitcase beds that you show and I hope you keep us involved in your project as you complete it because I think it will be FABULOUS!

    Pam

    Reply
  5. heretherebespiders

    You can clean the leather with ‘saddle soap’ and use mink oil to make it soft and shiny after. I like the idea of having the photos inside the lid, but would be worried it might accidentally clap shut on a kitteh. Will need supports it keep that from happening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,496 other followers

