Home Made Cat Treats

Like you might have read before I made cat treats! I’m not sure if I failed or not, or if they are supposed to look like this. But it doesn’t matter, because Suki and Hiro totally loved it!

Ingredients

  • 6 oz. can tuna (That was 5 cans of tuna!)
  • 1/2 Cup pre-cooked chicken meat.
  • 2 Tsp Flour.
  • Lactose free milk (I used cat milk from Whiskas)

Instructions

  • Open all the cans (make sure you got a can-opener that actually works…), drain the tuna, and cook the chicken.

Cooking chicken.

1/2 cup of chicken.

 

  • Combine the tuna and the chicken together with flour and enough lactose free milk.
    I used special cat milk from Whiskas. Not sure if that was a good idea. But the instructions were vague. “add enough lactose free milk to make a biscuit type dough”. I think I may have added too much tuna, and tuna doesn’t really ‘absorbs’ milk. I didn’t end up with a ‘biscuit like’ dough.
  • Roll into a long wormlike shape and cut into bite sized pieces.
    It didn’t want to roll into a wormlike shape without falling apart, so I went with mis-shaped little bits of balls.
  • Bake for 5-10 minutes at 250 degrees (F), checking frequently. When light brown, they are done.
    I baked them for almost 20 minutes because they didn’t want to turn light brown.
  • Cool and serve.

Remember that you have to keep the treats in the fridge, for up to 3 or 4 days. After that they aren’t that tasty anymore, and they had turned quite disgusting.

So did you ever made treats for your cat(s)?

Resource
Recipe from mycatsite.com.

19 Responses to “Home Made Cat Treats”

  1. Mollie

    I make Mollie ( dog ) treats but have never made Alfie any..Thank you, will give this a go. :) Sounds yummy, I could put a tomato sauce with it and give it to Hubby, saves cooking lots of different dishes..lol xx00xx
    Mollie and Alfie

    Reply
  2. heyitsjethere

    Hey Suki, Hey Hiro, Jet here. Hi Miss Dianda.l

    We encourage you to link up to Tasty Tuesday (today!) Mom asked me to share that Puffy has a most delicate GI tract, so, she sticks to the fewest ingredients possible and rarely treats. She could see you guys loving these treats for sure!

    Reply
  3. onespoiledcat

    Sounds like a great recipe – as usual things don’t ALWAYS turnout the way we think they will from a recipe (!!) but that makes it more EXCITING! These sound pretty delish really – and who cares what “shape” they are if they’re yummy. Sounds like these are yummy at first then over time get a lot LESS yummy. Hey – you gave the effort and that’s worth a whole lot – no doubt Suki and Hiro think so too!! Mom doesn’t make me treats because I’m the pickiest eater in the universe….. :D

    Kitty hugs, Sammy

    Reply
  4. nadbugs

    This is precisely the reason cooking eludes me! But I’m so proud of you for trying.

    For our purposes, treats that only last a few days won’t work. But the jerky recipe is working great for us. With chicken, though, and not the salmon I tried first. So here’s our contribution — in a link toward the end of this post.

    http://catself.wordpress.com/2012/09/17/dire-dental-doldrums/

    And again, using that recipe as a jumping-off place, I ended up using chicken breast-meat. Boys like it better, it’s easier than drumsticks to handle, and it keeps longer. Now, in the fridge, it’s lasted about three weeks and counting; still works great.

    Cheers to you Dianda, as ever, for being such an important resource. x0x0x0x

    Reply
  5. heretherebespiders

    Fair play to you! See what happens when you have an oven that works? Can you come over and help me make pumpkin and apple pies? I barely have patience for baking at all.

    Reply
    • Dianda

      I don’t like cooking, but everything with an oven is fine with me! I would loooooove to make a pie for you! Apple pie was actually on my list for the next time. :P

      Reply
  6. Savannah's Paw Tracks

    that is a lot of trouble to go through, but OMC! What a great cat MOM you are! and I just know Suki and Hiro understand how much effort you put in and you did it just for them! Mom may try to make something for me, but she hasn’t decided what to put in it other that cooked chicken liver because I luv my canned chicken and liver Fancy Feast. She will talk with my vet first though

    Reply
      • Savannah's Paw Tracks

        Mom has, for her and Dad, both beef liver and chicken liver. Mom is from Texas, they eat stuff like that there. ANywho, she also made her own “bait” for showing her Siberian Huskies…boiled beef liver, then dried out by making in the over, heavily laced with garlic…the dogs went berserk over it!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,495 other followers

