Cat Facts

I know, I know, I’m earlier than usual. But that’s because I probably won’t have time to post today. I also know I could just skip today to post something. But I get OCD about it if I don’t post. So that’s why I will only post some interesting cat facts today.

  • Cats have true fur, in that they have both an undercoat and an outer coat.
  • In cats, the calico and tortoiseshell coats are sex-linked traits. All cats displaying these coats are female, or occasionally sterile males.
  • Cats have 30 vertebrae (humans have 33 vertebrae during early development; 26 after the sacral and coccygeal regions fuse)
  • Cats have 32 muscles that control the outer ear (compared to human’s 6 muscles each). A cat can rotate its ears independently 180 degrees, and can turn in the direction of sound 10 times faster than those of the best watchdog.
  • Recent studies have shown that cats can see blue and green. There is disagreement as to whether they can see red.
  • If a cat is frightened, the hair stands up fairly evenly all over the body; when the cat is threatened or is ready to attack, the hair stands up only in a narrow band along the spine and tail.
  • Cats have 30 teeth (12 incisors, 10 premolars, 4 canines, and 4 molars), while dogs have 42. Kittens have baby teeth, which are replaced by permanent teeth around the age of 7 months.
  • In Siam, the cat was so revered that one rode in a chariot at the head of a parade celebrating the new king.
  • The first formal cat show was held in England in 1871; in America, in 1895.
  • The first true cats came into existence about 12 million years ago and were the Proailurus.
  • The life expectancy of cats has nearly doubled since 1930 – from 8 to 16 years.
  • Cats with long, lean bodies are more likely to be outgoing, and more protective and vocal than those with a stocky build.
  • A steady diet of dog food may cause blindness in your cat – it lacks taurine.
  • Some cats will actually knead and drool when they are petted. The kneading or marching means that the cat is happy.
19 Responses to “Cat Facts”

  1. STB

    Hi,
    great post. I agree with the ‘Cats with long, lean bodies are more likely to be outgoing, and more protective and vocal than those with a stocky build.’
    Jasper is a very stocky cat and NEVER cries, ever. He is super laid back too. My Kitten who is very long, lean and tall is very very vocal – he never shuts up!

    Reply
  2. lillythecat

    Lilly kneads things all the time. Just sitting next to me or even on a plastic bag. She can’t seem to get enough. I haven’t seen her drool though! Would be pretty hilarious to see that.

    Reply
  3. minlit

    Cats with long, lean bodies are more likely to be outgoing, and more protective and vocal than those with a stocky build….That’s Mr Stripey Pants. Or it would be if we replace ‘outgoing’ with something more suggestive of his ability to annoy people!

    Reply
  4. heretherebespiders

    Hmm. I don’t know what body type Spot fits into. He’s a Bengal, so he’s a little bigger than average, and I would say muscular rather than stocky. Maybe Bengals, with the Asian Leopard Cat blood, don’t fit the average? Lokii is for sure long, lean, and loud! Not as loud as Spot, though, when he is in the mood…

    Reply
    • Dianda

      Bengal’s are so pretty!
      My cat Suki, isn’t really lean either, I’m not sure which body type she fits into, but she is noisy!

      Reply
    • STB

      We had two Bengals – they never stopped talking! One, Kipper, was like a big teddy bear. He was a stunning cat. Very stocky and very very big, but a real softy. The other, Jack, is much leaner and taller than his brother was. Both chatty though.

      Reply
      • Dianda

        I like chatty cats, especially if they meow back when you talk to them. It’s like having a conversation.

  5. Alexandra

    Aren’t those just wonderful Main-coons in that picture :) so lovely!

    I laughed about the muscles on the ears – Usyaka can show it pretty well. I think her best show is when she turns them to the back a bit and then folds them in halves, just straight in the middle, as if those are not ears but paper planes :D

    BTW about the posts – you know that you can schedule them, right? You can just choose the time for them to be published and you don’t have to be near the computer when they get published.

    Reply
    • Dianda

      I can do that with wordpress? I never really thought about that actually. I know I could do the same with tumblr, haha. I really need to take a better look in my dashboard and posts and such.

      Yes, Maine Coons! It’s such a cute picture, so fluffy!

      Like paper planes? :o
      I bet it looks funny. Paper planes on her head. 8)

      Reply
      • Alexandra

        Yes, it’s to the right of the page, when you publish a post ( not a quick post option, but a standard post, the one where you have all the menus and the tags and so on.) So in the top right corner there is a line “publish immediately”- and then “Edit” next to that line. You need to press “edit” and choose the date and time you want. It’s very comfortable. You can just schedule several posts ahead and think about new ideas, while they get published one after another.

        Yeah, Usyaka looks very funny when she does that. I hope I’ll take a picture of that one day.

  6. Dianda

    That sounds very handy! I should really try it out sometimes! :D Thanks!

    Haha, I was about to say that, Hope you catch a picture of her paper planes some day. ;)

    Reply
    • Dianda

      So far I know that’s pretty normal. :o
      With kneading they alternately push out and pull in their front paws.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,435 other followers

